FacebookTwitterLook at our InstagramYoutube

HI News

Dorothy Allen Simonetti

Member Service
Toll Free :

She was one of the 80 participants at the 1937 annual meeting of the Youth Hostels group. Munroe Smith of the American Youth Hostels saw Dorothy Allen's potential & hired the 19-year-old to come to the USA to work in the AYH office. The following year she led a trip to Europe and stayed for the International Conference to see IYHF accept Canada as a member of the International Youth Hostelling Federation. On her return, as part of the employment bargain, she went to both Toronto and Montreal and set up Youth Hostel Committees.

The Dorothy Allen Simonetti Award is presented for outstanding service by a staff person in the Hostelling International - Canada partnership. Their leadership at the regional and national levels will have demonstrated such service.

The staff person will have demonstrated through his or her actions the following principles of interaction that have been adopted by Hostelling International - Canada: 

  • Work together to promote the unity of the partnership 
  • Promote constructive relationships with each other
  • Take the initiative to make things better 
  • Lead by example 
  • Work together on the basis of our values, consultation and cooperation.

Additionally, a special focus will be put by the Jury on branding, strategic alliances, membership strategy, world heritage, environmental charter, as well as peace and international understanding.

A 200 word (minimum) description of the candidate and his or her activities, should be sent to the HI-Canada office using the form which is included.

The candidate may be recommended by their regional association, the National Executive Board or the HI-Canada Awards Committee.

The award recipient will get a plaque and a mention on the HI-C website. This Award shall be presented annually by the President of HI-Canada or his/her representative.

At the Jury's discretion this award may not be bestowed every year.


    2014 - Jessica Cerato (Pacific Mountain) 
    2013 - Liz Ferguson (Pacific Mountain) 
    2012 - Gloria Demers (Atlantic) & Shelbey Sy (Pacific Mountain) 
    2011 - Shane Pizzariello (Atlantic) 
    2010 - Jacques Perreault (St-Laurent) 
    2009 - Robb Cryder (Pacific Mountain) 
    2008 - Renée Charbonneau (St-Laurent) 
    2007 - Volker Schelhas (Northern Alberta) 
    2006 - Joyce Turton (Ontario East) 
    2005 - Glenda Brezinsky (Saskatchewan) 
    2004 - Claude Coudé (Tourisme Jeunesse) 
    2003 - Robert Bisson (Great Lakes) 
    2002 - Gratton Sheely (HI-Canada) 
    2002 - Olga Forbes (Southern Alberta) 
    2001 - Jim Zackowski (Southern Alberta) 
    2001 - Joël Marier (Great Lakes) 
    2000 - John Hopkins (British Columbia) 
    1999 - Joël Marier (Great Lakes) 
    1998 - Jeff Minuk (British Columbia) 
    1992 - Steve Edgerton (Northern Alberta) 
    1990 - Carol Carrie (Ontario East) 
    1989 - Susan Shields (Southern Alberta) 
    1988 - Lianne Gusway (Saskatchewan) 
    1988 - Barb Heisler (Southern Alberta) 


Site MapPrivacy PolicyEnvironmental statementWeb Advertising Policy© 2014 Hostelling International-Canada. All rights reserved