FacebookTwitterLook at our InstagramYoutube

HI News

Our Awards

Member Service
Toll Free :

HI-Canada National Awards Program

Each year at our HI-Canada (NAGM) National Annual General Meeting and Conference, we take a moment to recognize those among us who have made a significant difference to the hostelling movement. It's our opportunity to celebrate the special contributions made by volunteers and staff and for making our mission important and memorable for hostellers...

"To help all, especially the young, gain a greater understanding of peoples, places and cultures, through hostelling."

We have given careful consideration to making these awards representative for special contributions made by staff and volunteers in all Regions across the country. The awards recognize and encourage exemplary contributions and set new standards for which future nominees may aspire.

Please take a moment to review the criteria for each of the seven awards. Each Region is asked to submit names of volunteers and staff who fulfill the criteria. Take a moment to reflect on those who deserve our sincere thanks, a special vote of appreciation, or an award for their dedication and positive contributions to hostelling and nominate them.

Each Region is asked to confer locally and, where appropriate, select a nominee or nominees for each category as well as for long service recognition. The Jury will give careful consideration to your nominee(s) and the winners will receive their awards and well-deserved recognition at the annual Conference. The jury will be composed of one member from each of the National Executive Board, the Presidents Forum, the Council of Executive Directors, the National Awards Standing Committee and the National Executive Director.

Awards will be made under the following categories: 

CATHERINE AND MARY BARCLAY AWARD - for outstanding service by a volunteer for leadership both at the Regional and National levels. 

DOROTHY ALLEN SIMONETTI AWARD - for outstanding service by a staff person that demonstrates service to and leadership within the partnership. 

CHUCK AND MARJORIE HARRIS AWARD - for a group project by volunteers or staff that supports the development or improvement of the partnership.

IVY DEVEREUX AWARDS - for a hostel with overnights in excess of 10,000 and for a hostel with overnights less than 10,000.

RICHARD SCHIRRMANN ASSOCIATION OF THE YEAR AWARD - Award is presented to the Association of the Year,
one which demonstrates inspiration, vision and progress. 

RUDY COMEAULT - Recognizes remarkable leadership for the participation at the international level or for the development of the youth hostel movement in Latin America 

PARTNER OF THE YEAR - Recognizes exceptional contribution to an organization working with HI-Canada as voted by our members on HI-Canada's web-site.

SUSTAINABLE HOSTEL OF THE YEAR - This award is to show our appreciation to the Canadian hostel having received the highest sustainability and overall ratings by HI.

HOSTEL EDUCATIONAL PROGRAM AWARDS - To promote program awareness within the partnership and recognise and encourage exemplary programs and set new standards to which future nominees may aspire.

LONG SERVICE RECOGNITION - Pins or certificates will be presented to those in attendance who have completed five, ten, fifteen, twenty or more year of service

Site MapPrivacy PolicyEnvironmental statementWeb Advertising Policy© 2014 Hostelling International-Canada. All rights reserved